That Religious Studies Website

Buddhism: Introduction

World Faith: Ethics

World Faith

The Moral Precepts of Buddhism

Information: This is a list of the moral precepts of Buddhism. These are found in the way of morality (action), in The Noble Eightfold Path. A version of this article was originally published on the website

All members of the sangha promise to keep the first five precepts. These are:

  • 1. To refrain from killing or harming living things.
  • 2. To refrain from taking what is not given.
  • 3. To refrain from indulging in sensual pleasures.
  • 4. To refrain from false and wrong speech.
  • 5. To refrain from drink or drugs which cloud the mind.


Monks and nuns promise to keep these additional precepts:

  • 6. To refrain from eating after midday.
  • 7. To refrain from involvement in dancing, acting or music.
  • 8. To refrain from using ornaments or perfumes.
  • 9. To refrain from using a high or big bed.
  • 10. To refrain from handling gold or silver.

Back to top